Music with Meaning

Stevie Ray Vaughn on guitar solo or singing anything. Blues saxophone, especially when it evokes images of streetlights on rain-slicked pavement sometime after midnight. And anyone who sounds like Leonard Cohen singing anything, but especially the songs that make you think of dark, lonely nights filled with the echoes of regret. Music is the thing that reminds me that being alive doesn’t always mean you’re always happy, that growing as a human being really does hurt sometimes, and that if you’ve never done something you are sorry for, then you’re being too damned careful.

Music is emotion, and because I’m a writer, music becomes images and mood, and that becomes people and stories. So for me, music is much more than a song. It’s a door to a world that belongs to someone else, and when I walk through that door, I am in someone else’s shoes, feeling his emotions and telling his story. Music is magic, and the people who write it and perform it are magicians. And I thank them for the world they open to everyone who listens.

Image?

One thought on “Music with Meaning

  1. Obscured Dreamer

    I really like the analogy you use here –> “It’s a door to a world that belongs to someone else, and when I walk through that door, I am in someone else’s shoes, feeling his emotions and telling his story.” As a writer myself I feel the same, even if I might describe it differently. I really enjoyed your expression of how it is for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

